MEMORANDUM

TO: CERRITOS COLLEGE FACULTY AND INSTRUCTIONAL DEANS

FROM: MARY BALMAGES, CHAIRPERSON; THE FACULTY SENATE ACADEMIC AFFAIRS COMMITTEE; AND THE ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE AWARDS COMMITTEE MEMBERS

DATE: 4/13/11

CC: DEB MOORE, FACULTY SENATE PRESIDENT

The Academic Excellence Awards Annual Program, sponsored by the Cerritos College Foundation and presented by the Faculty Senate, will be held at 7:00 pm on Wednesday, March 23, 2011, in the Burnight Center Theatre. This event has the wonderful tradition of honoring our brightest and most talented students in their major areas. After the awards program, an informal reception will be held in the Boardroom. The reception gives us a chance to greet and visit with the awardees, their families, and friends. The Criteria for an Academic Excellence Award are:

• 3.5 GPA – minimum

- 30 Cerritos College Units completed
- 9 Units completed in area of recognition
- Enrolled at Cerritos College Fall 2010 with a minimum of 2 units.
- Nomination form completed and submitted. Transcript(s) must be included.

Once the nomination forms are submitted, the Academic Excellence Committee will review all applications to determine final eligibility. Please do not tell your nominee that they have won the award. Instead, tell them that you are submitting their information for consideration and that they will be notified at a later date.

Important Dates:

- Monday, January 10, 2011 Nomination forms distributed to faculty
- Monday, January 10, 2011 Student data distributed to department chairs
- Thursday, February 10, 2011 Nomination forms with transcripts attached are due to Division Representatives (see below)
- 7:00 pm Wednesday, March 23, 2011 Academic Excellence Awards Program in the Burnight Theatre

Division Representatives are:

- Business Education Mary Balmages
- Fine Arts/Communications David Betancourt
- Health Occupations Rebecca Marine
- Health, Physical Ed & Athletics Janet Sanderson
- Liberal Arts Bill Sparks & Barbara Mueller
- SEM –Susan LePere
- Humanities/Social Sciences Mark Abbruzzese
- Technology Felicia Smith
- DSPS Mary Hunt
- Classified Anna Fischer
- Library Lynda Sampson

Thank you for your continued support. We look forward to another outstanding Academic Excellence Awards Program honoring our best and brightest students!