Campus COVID-19 Updates | Get Vaccinated

Students Receive AAUW Scholarships

AAUW scholarship recipients and their childrenSix Cerritos College students received scholarships from the American Association of University Women (AAUW) at its 25th Anniversary Awards Brunch. President Dr. Jose Fierro welcomed the group and thanked them for their efforts as national leaders in social justice issues and promoting equity and education for women and girls. Cerritos College Director of Student Program Services Norma Rodriguez is the College’s liaison to the La Palma-Cerritos AAUW branch. She is an active member, and worked with her team to organize the event in support of student success. Dr. John Haas, Dr. Solomon Namala, Amy Moskun, and Peter Maloney were also on hand to celebrate the students’ accomplishments.

“We are proud to have this long-standing partnership with the La Palma AAUW branch. This kind of community collaboration is vital to our institution and to our students. AAUW provides the added support services outside of what we have to offer here at the College,” said Norma.

AAUW $1,500 Memorial Scholarship recipients:
Suleyma Martinez (Alberta Brose Memorial Scholarship)
Lacie Gross (Ollie Lee Stewart Memorial Scholarship)

AAUW $1,000 Scholarship recipients:
Prottyuth “Chapal” Barua
Samantha Moreno
Adela Ochoa
Juliene Porciuncula 

AAUW is the nation’s leading voice on promoting equity and education for women and girls. AAUW is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization and has more than 170,000 members and supporters across the United States, as well as 1,000 local branches and over 800 college and university partners. For more information on the La Palma Cerritos AAUW go to website:

Stay Connected

Site Map | Accreditation | Disclaimer | Report a Website/Accessibility Issue | Document Readers | Safety Reporting | Consumer Information
Last Update: 5/1/2018