close
 

Now Open for In-Person Classes. COVID-19 Updates.

Schedule of Events

March 1 - March 11

ESSAY CONTEST: Submissions due Friday, March 11.
Cash Prizes. Submissions accepted now. Open to all students. Send Submissions to
Katie St. John at hstjohn@Cerritos.edu
Contact: Katie St. John at hstjohn@Cerritos.edu

ECHOES MAGAZINE SUBMISSION: Multimodal Magazine. Submissions due Friday, March 11.
Raffle Prizes. Submissions accepted now. Open to students, faculty, and staff.
Contact: Amanda Reyes at areyes@cerritos.edu
Sara Cristin at scristin@cerritos.edu

March 1 - March 31

VIRTUAL ART EXHIBIT  Reception: Monday March 28 | 5-6 pm
Open to students, faculty, staff and community
Contact: Hagop Najarian at hnajarian@Cerritos.edu
Audra Graziano at agraziano@cerritos.edu


 

March 2, 11am - 12pm

Beyond ‘Vanilla History’: Sex, Socialism, and Black Power in the Caribbean
Presented by Dr. Chelsea Schields, UC Irvine

March 3, 2pm - 3pm (begins March 3, meets every Thursday)

Book Club: What Would Frida Do?
Open to students, faculty, and staff. Receive a free book.
Contact: Lydia Alvarez at lalvarez@Cerritos.edu

March 3, 7pm - 8:30pm

Tribute to Women’s Writers
Open to all students, faculty and staff. Share a short excerpt from a poem, essay, book, etc. that celebrates “Refusing to be Silenced”
Contact: Henrietta Hurtado at hhurtado@Cerritos.edu
Katie Mishler at kmishler@Cerritos.edu

March 7, 3pm - 4:30pm

Persisters: Trailblazing Women Who Wouldn’t Give Up
Presented by Barbara Van Dine, Cerritos College

March 8, 11am - 12pm

Informational Session on Mary Montague
Presented by John Haas, Cerritos College

March 9, 9am - 10am

“Women in Engineering”
Presented by Roni Allen, Cerritos College and Dr. Jinny Rhee, CSULB

March 10, 9:30am - 11am

“A Conversation with Trailblazer FDNY Captain Brenda Berkman”
Presented by artist and retired NY Fire Captain Brenda Berkman

March 10, 2pm - 3pm

Book Club: What would Frida Do?
Facilitated by Lydia Alvarez, Cerritos College
Contact: Lydia Alvarez at lalvarez@Cerritos.edu

March 11, 9:30am - 10:30am

“Building Sustainable Peace, Part 1”
Presented by Mary Montague (North Ireland Conflict Mediator)

March 11

ECHOES Magazine Submissions Due
Essay Contest Submissions Due

March 21, 10am - 12pm

“Art as Civic Engagement”
Presented by Deborah Aschheim, American new media artist

March 22, 9:30am - 10:30am

“Building Sustainable Peace, Part 2”
Presented by Mary Montague (North Ireland Conflict Mediator)

March 22, 5pm - 6pm

Film Critique and Discussion: The Notorious RBG
Open to students, faculty, and staff.
Contact: Lauren Elan Helsper at elanhelsper@cerritos.edu

March 23, TBA

ECHOES Literary Magazine Reception

March 23, 1pm - 2pm

“Women’s Leadership in American Civic Education”
Presented by Elizabeth Clay Roy (CEO Generation Citizen)

March 24, 11am - 12:30pm

“The Arpilleras Women of Chile”
Presented by Carlos Arce, Cerritos College instructor and MOLAA docent

March 24, 2pm - 3pm

Book Club: What would Frida Do?
Facilitated by Lydia Alvarez, Cerritos College
Contact: Lydia Alvarez at lalvarez@Cerritos.edu

March 24, 4pm - 5pm

A Speech and Debate Team Showcase: Invisible Women
Open to students, faculty, and staff.
Contact: Nick Matthews at nmatthews@Cerritos.edu

March 25, 1pm - 2pm

“Pinayist Pedagogy/Praxis and Community College Leadership”
Presented by Dr. Rowena Tomaneng, President, San Jose City College

March 28, 5pm - 6pm

Virtual Art Exhibit Reception

March 29, 10am - 11am

“Amplifying Women’s Voices Through Economic Policy”
Presented by Dr. Katya De Los Rios, Cerritos College

March 30, 10am - 12pm

Community Resource Fair Event: Mental Health and Basic Needs
Open to students, faculty, staff and community
Contact: Shannon Estrada at sestrada@cerritos.edu

March 30, 11am - 12pm

The Life, Legacy and Relevance of Dorothy Cotton for our Time of Despair and Division
Presented by Dr. Harry Boyte

March 31, 10am - 12pm

Community Resource Fair Event: Legal Services and Family Empowerment
Contact: Shannon Estrada at sestrada@cerritos.edu

March 31, 11am - 12pm

"Abolitionist Feminism: Margaret Fuller’s Critique of Spinoza on Gender.”
Presented by Dr. Ted Stolze, Cerritos College

March 31, 2pm - 3pm

Book Club: What would Frida Do?
Facilitated by Lydia Alvarez, Cerritos College
Contact: Lydia Alvarez at lalvarez@Cerritos.edu

 

Stay Connected

Site Map | Accreditation | Disclaimer | Document Readers | Report a Website/Accessibility Issue | Safety Reporting | Consumer Information Last Update: 3/24/2022