Campus COVID-19 Updates | Get Vaccinated

Social Justice Studies: Africana Studies Degree


The Associate in Arts in Social Justice Studies: Africana Studies for Transfer (AA-T) degree is an interdisciplinary program designed to prepare students for a seamless transfer to a CSU. The first of its kind here at Cerritos College, this program offers an introduction to the theoretical principles and practices of social justice, paying particular attention to the study of the life history, culture, and social justice traditions of Black people.

This program is open to all students and may be of particular interest to those who wish to pursue advocacy work for underrepresented groups and become change agents in the hard yet necessary work of re-imagining a more equitable society.


Required Core: (9 Units) Units
SOC 210 American Minority Relations 3
SOC 202 Gender and Society 3
 or WGS 202 Gender and Society (3)
AFRS 105 Introduction to Africana Studies 3

List A: Select three courses from at least two of the following areas (9 units)

Only one course from Area 4 may be used

Area 1: History or Government

Course Units
HIST 110 African American History 3

Area 2: Arts and Humanities

Course Units
ART 104 African Art History 3
ART 108 Black Images in Popular Culture 3
 or HUM 108 Black Images in Popular Culture (3)
ART 109 Gender and Sexuality in Art 3
 or HUM 109 Gender and Sexuality in Art (3)

Area 3: Social Sciences

Course Units
SOC 215 Sociology of Cultural Diversity 3

Area 4: Quantitative Reasoning and Research Methods

Course Units
MATH 112 Elementary Statistics 4
 or PSYC 210 Elementary Statistics (4)
 or PSYC 220 Research Methods (4)

TOTAL UNITS FOR THE MAJOR                                                                                                         18-19

Complete the following (1) 60 semester or 90 quarter CSU – transferable units (2) The California State University-General Education-Breadth pattern (CSU GE-Breadth); or the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum (IGETC) pattern (3) A minimum of 18 semester or 27 quarter units in the major or area of emphasis as determined by the community college district (4) Obtainment of a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 2.0 (5) Earn a grade of “C” or better in all courses required for the major or area of emphasis.

Stay Connected

Site Map | Accreditation | Disclaimer | Report a Website/Accessibility Issue | Document Readers | Safety Reporting | Consumer Information
Last Update: 8/13/2021